Canucks 2018-2019 Sportsman’s Dinner and Awards Night Recap

The Calgary Canucks Annual Sportsman’s Dinner and Awards night was held on March 2, 2019 at the Best Western Premier Calgary Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre.  Lyle Peterman, Canucks broadcaster and emcee for the evening, helped kick off an exciting evening.

Our guest speaker for the night was former Canucks Head Coach Don Phelps. Don Phelps was head coach of the Canucks for 30 years. During his time as Canucks head coach he earned 775 wins and won numerous championships. Don spoke about his time with the Canucks and the core principles of what the Calgary Canucks are all about. He also gave some valuable advice to the players about the life skills gained through hockey.

The Canucks would like to thank Don Phelps for attending the banquet and for always supporting the Canucks.

Included as part of the event was the presentation of player awards for this past season.  Below is a list of the individual awards presented to the players by the Canucks Coaching staff.  Congratulations to all of the recipients! 

Click here for more photos from the event.

Don Phelps Leadership Award – Jackson Verstraete

Leading Scorer – Nic Herringer

Top Rookie – Brett Balas

Most Improved Player – Alex Heal

Unsung Hero Award – Leighton Burns-Marion

Players Player Award – Korbyn Chabot

Top Defenceman – Adamu Tanaka

Top Defensive Forward – Jackson Zloty

Ken Bracko Most Valuable Player – Zach Bokenfohr

Top Rookie Scorer – Dylan Clark

Community Service Award – Kaiden Collumb and Jackson Zloty

Canuckee Award (Volunteer) – Linda Foster

Old Timers Scholarship of Merit – Nic Herringer

Calgary Booster Club Award Scholarship – Blake Pilon

Tuxedo Source for Sports Scholarship – Adamu Tanaka

B&P Scholarship in Honour of Paul McClure – Zach Bokenfohr